MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/22/2012 06:52 AM

So scared!

grandmere

I am new here..57 year old female.You may not want me here because I am not diagnosed yet though I am sure I have it. I was a nurse. I drank, I thought moderately, but clearly too much. I am so afraid. I have red palms and lots of red spots. I haven't had a drink in a month.This morning my bowel movement was clay colored, the first time. and I am so upset I cannot type very well.Am I going to die?I know I have to go to doctor but am so ashamed and frightened but I will go soon.

02/22/2012 07:04 AM
1polarbear
1polarbear  

Welcome grandmere! This is a great group and yes, we want to hear from you! Definitely go to the doc and be honest to a fault with them. They need to know how to treat you, but you know that being a nurse. No need to be ashamed, we've all had things in our past that we live with.

My cirrhosis is caused by autoimmune disease, I have Primary Biliary Cirrhosis. I never knew I had something like this brewing in my body. But no matter the cause, we all end up with the same thing. Congrats on not drinking in a month! If your symptoms are caused by the drinking then quitting is the best thing you can do to stop the progression. Just go to the doctors and have the tests run, don't panic (I know, easy to say...I panicked too!)

02/22/2012 07:37 AM
grandmere

Thank you so much for your kindness!I think where I stopped drinking and the BM this morning is what really has me terrified. Does that mean I am going to die real soon..sorry, my nursing knowledge has gone out the window..too scared to think.Thank you all for this site, very much!

02/22/2012 08:25 AM
MoonWatcher
MoonWatcherPosts: 736