MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
10/02/2011 05:47 PM

Challenge Getting Validation from Husband

AnnaO
AnnaO  

Hi All,

I'm new to this CFS forum but not new to MDJunction. I have had CFS for 3.5 years, but I didn't realize/face that diagnosis until recently.

As part of CFS, I have pretty apparent adrenal insufficiency, so I focused on that as my only diagnosis for the past year. Until recently when I finally faced the fact that my problems and deficiencies in the HPA axis, immune system, neurotransmitters, and central nervous system are all intertwined, and that I actually have CFS.

Now I've gotten to this point and am focused on a wholistic approach to helpling heal or make up for all the various dysfunctional systems.

One of my biggest challenges is helping my husband understand or getting validation from him. I told him about CFS. I sent him text about CFIDS (officials CDC info, etc.). I told him he could come with me to my doctor appointment, but he doesn't want to.

He is a wonderful husband. He is very loving and supportive of anything I want or need. He always shares in chores and helps with the kids and does his share. Whenever I ask him for help or ask him to do something for me, he always does it without complaint.

But it is only when I tell him that I can't participate in something on the weekend (like a family activity, or taking our two sons to their friend's house) that he gets that look. You know that look that says he can't believe I can't keep going. That look (almost an eye roll) that says I'm making too much out of this. That look that says I should just push through it. That look that he is almost disapproving of me.

That look makes me sooooo upset! And there doesn't seem to be anything I can say at that moment that will change his look into some kind of validation. He doesn't say anything. And I guess all I'm wanting is some sort of acknowledgement.