MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
08/09/2011 11:27 PM

How Do I Help My Husband ???

GodsWillAmen

I need some direction or advice from you all on how to help my husband. There is so much he refuses to acknowledge. Nothing I do to help is ever any good to him, it only makes him angrier. He is filled with numbness and bitter rage, and I am the one he takes it all out on, and blames. Our life is at a stand still. Our marriage is not a marriage at all. He sweeps everything under the rug, and pretends all is well, then the next minute he snaps, and his anger and emotions take control. I have no experience with any of this, coming from a pretty "boring family," with a Dad that adored my Mom and us kids. Coming from that kind of family, he seems to resent me for it. He hears my Mom and I talking about family times, and it just makes him mope even more. My Mom and I both love him and want him to find a way out of this place he continues to live, but he will not seek any kind of help, or talk to anyone about it. What do I do ? How do I help ? Can I help ? What do I say ? If he is not ready to seek help, then where is my place in any of it ? Do I simply sit back and let him find his path on his own ? It is something that has taken over our whole lives. I am constantly thinking about how to say or do something that will get to his core, but it is all pretend. I don't even feel like I am living sometimes, and if I am, it is his life and his problems. I realize his problems are mine since we are married, but does that negate his responsibility to make himself be the best he can be ? Again, I am here, wanting to help, but nothing ever helps him. I am stumped. Any suggestions ???

08/10/2011 04:35 AM
barelymanic
barelymanic  
VIP Member