MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
09/03/2011 12:03 AM

Getting diagnosed, getting good treatment

sparklehorse

Hi, as a newbie, I've started a few discussions. I am figuring out what I can about BPD.

I, personally think I have BPD traits severe enough that they have made life miserable for me. They hsve proved intractable to regular treatment.

I may have only four traits, who know? Maybe I have the requisite five. The one's I do have cause immense pain.

The few practioners I have tried to explain this to are dismissive. I have comorbidities of major depression, BPII, PTSD, and extreme anxiety. Those get the focus.

I want to be properly diagnoised without judgement or traumitization.

I want to find appropriate treatment and not have the daylights scared out if me.

How does anyone approach this in a sane manner?

I was thinking of taking some xeroxes of updated reading to my pdoc. How does that sound?

Thanks for any imput.

sparklehorse

09/03/2011 01:25 AM
peaches261
peaches261  
Group Leader

I dont know if I would go as far as to take updated info. That may make your pdoc think you believe they don't know what theyre doing. While the internet can be informative, a lot of people have started self-diagnosing before they even go to the doctor, which I'm sure can be very frustrating for them. I would just maybe take some notes in on the criteria you think you meet and discuss it with your pdoc. Their psych evals are the true way of diagnosing.

09/03/2011 07:09 AM
ApRiLGeTsAngry77

I know a lot of quizes on the internet are not worthy of mentioning to a doctor but there is a borderline quiz on psychcentral.com that I think would be worth mentioning to a doctor if you take it and the results show evidence of boderline symptoms. A doctor created the site and quiz so that is why I think you could take it to your current doctor and open up a communication line based on that. Also what peaches said is a good idea.

09/03/2011 07:11 AM