MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
06/08/2011 10:56 PM

looking for some understanding...

megsmiley

Hi all,

I have been reading posts from this forum all night and am in tears because I recognize so much of what I am reading.

I am 32 years old, married, mother of a 2 year-old boy and I believe I have bipolar II, cyclothymia or something in that spectrum.

I went once to see a doctor about this about 10 years ago and was told that I am too high-functioning to have this (I was a law student at the time and am now a lawyer).

However, I don't feel very high-functioning. Life is hard. I don't think life should be this hard. I don't think I should be having to exert such effort to try to keep my emotions under control, to suppress the intense rage and irritability that can come up for me or to get out of bed on many mornings. This has been continuous since I was 15 years old, although sometimes I get a few months off here and there to breathe. I am exhausted with just this aspect of my life, never mind parenting, marriage, housework, work and everything else. Life is hard. I feel like I am tottering on the edge of a big abyss and I am constantly struggling to keep my balance and avoid falling in. My marriage is suffering. I am sad and scared.

One big indicator to me that this is bipolar is that when I was medicated for depression at age 19, I went completely manic- I shaved my head completely bald at a party, wore just a bikini to the bar, engaged in a lot of other behavior that is not characteristic for me and which I am not proud of. That was the only time in my life that I ever behaved that way. The behavior stopped once I dropped the zoloft.