MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
09/13/2012 06:59 AM

bipolar gets worse with age?

TenaceFemme
TenaceFemme  

Ok it would be so helpfull to hear from some expeirance here. So i just read bipolar gets worse the older you get as soon as i read this i didnt want to live anymore. Im suffering. It started at a young age wasnt diagnosable till 24. Ive heard of people getting better as they age and ive held that in my heart to keep me alive. Anybody want to share their experiences with me?

09/13/2012 07:11 AM
buzzingmind
buzzingmind  

Sorry, i am 43 and have only been diagosed for 2 years so I cant say if I have changed. I dont like the sound of that though!

09/13/2012 07:26 AM
sarahtroy
sarahtroy  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

I am not a doctor. I have bipolar disorder. My responses are based on my own experience, reading and research.

QUESTION: "I know bipolars begin to experience cognitive damage with each untreated manic episode but do BPs on medication also experience this cognitive damage?"

Yes. Bipolar is a progressive, organic brain disease.

Bipolar is a major mental disease (or disorder). Research on the major mental disorders, such a bipolar, schizophrenia, major depression, and Alzheimer's disease, shows: A) Deterioration of the brain occurs slowly over the lifespan in each of these disorders. B.) This deterioration is both structural and functional. C) There are differences between how the brain looks in each of these disorders. In other words, the brain of a bipolar has structural and functional deterioration that is different from the brain of a major depressive disorder. D) In each of these disorders, we know that active phases of the disease, or "episodes," accelerates brain deterioration.