MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
08/04/2009 09:39 PM

new to group and would like support and advice!

mayalb

hi everyone, i'm new to this type of support and am used to a more traditional type of support system. tonight i had a huge breakdown and usually tend to feel completely not worthy. after being so needy and moody i realize how much i interupt others lives and how difficult it must be for them... my thougts swirl down into thinking that they don't deserve to deal with me and how much I have no self worth. i've suffered from depression and major depression episodes throughout my life. i can break through some of these times with a lot of focus and a lot of therapy and other times i feel as though i'm on top of the world. i take medication for depression (40mg Celexa) and yesterday stopped taking Trileptal (300mg) down from 600 a week ago because it makes me incredibly tired.

i'm constantly worried that I'm not going to be accepted and a lot of times, i create this insecurity in my mind. That is just the surface, of course as with many others. On top of it, I'm losing my father to vascualr dementia and after a visit with him over the weekend my emotions were on high. i hope that i'll find some good information with this group and look forward to reading how everyone helps themself get through tough spots.

08/05/2009 03:39 AM
Marimac

mayalb, welcome to the group. This is a great group with good people in it. I'm sure you will find it helpful. I'm sorry your family is going through such a hard time right now. Remember that it makes everyone feel sad/angry to see their father suffer with dementia.

I was also diagnosed with Major Depressive Disorder for many years, and went through numerous long episodes.