MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
12/08/2011 12:37 AM

17 yr old bipolar daughter - I feel so helpless

mack0716

Hello. This is my first time ever joining an online support group. I probably should have done this many years ago. My daughter has been officially diagnosed with ADHD/Bipolar & Dyslexia. We have been dealing with these problems since she was a toddler but at age 5 she would have rages that were so bad she told me she would take a knife a cut my head off. She took Depakoke for several years and also has to take meds for ADHD to get through school. Those medications aggravate the bipolar so it's a vicious cycle. We have tried our hardest with her. We've driven her hundreds of miles away to see doctors who just over medicated her to the point she was just a zombie. We didn't want this for our daughter and still don't. The overmedication was when she was about 6 or 7 years old. I think like most BP kids, she can be the greatest kid on earth. She has a huge heart and is so giving. She would give someone in need, her last dime. A good example is what she asked for this year for her birthday. All she wanted was to sponsor a child from Africa. She didn't want anything else. So, we did that for her and she loves that child. She keeps her framed picture with her whenever she goes to spend the night away from home and writes her letters regularly. On the other hand, she can be the exact opposite with us and be very cruel. She HATES rules and we keep a pretty close eye on what she is doing and who she hangs out with. She loathes the fact that we do but we're not willing to change that. She always screams we don't understand, which is true. We try to always begin our "talks" without screaming and yelling. We have worked on that a lot ( my husband and I ) but she keeps pushing and pushing. She had an appt today with her psychiatrist and it was just she and I today at the appt. Her dad was working. She portrayed her dad as someone who picked on her al