MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
06/14/2013 11:07 AM

Haldol and Cogentin

tinlizzy

I take Haldo and have been having tremors in my legs, arms, and hands. My pdoc prescribed Cogentin for the tremors. Problem is that I am in a bit of a funk right now and one of the main side effects of Cogentin is depression. I am afraid to fill the script because my depressions can become life-threatening rather quickly.

Anyone have any experience with either drug?

06/14/2013 12:51 PM
VickiL1219
VickiL1219  

I am not a doctor, but I will say that Haldol is an older antipsychotic, which can cause tics and tremors. The doctor prescribed the cogentin to relieve those symptoms. Tardive Dyskonesia can cause serious side effects over long term use (those tics and tremors) I would call your pdoc and ask him about how cogentin affects you, as well as how severe your tremors are. The newer antipsychotics can cause tremors as well, but not nearly at the rate of haldol. I don't want to overstep my boundaries on this subject, but just want to put it out there. I hope your symptoms are relieved soon.

06/14/2013 02:34 PM
bluejae
bluejae