MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/27/2012 01:24 PM

wish me luck I don't act like a fool

centerseeker
centerseeker  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

My husband is very involved politically so I am occasionally called upon to go to big important dinners with big important muckity-mucks who make me nervous as hell even though they are all nice people.

I have had more than one panic attacks over these things. My husband asks me as rarely as possible but for various reasons this is one I really have to go to.

This is my first time going to one since being stable and on meds so I keep telling myself to expect it to be better as really all evidence points to it being fine now.

Still I am beyond anxious. Even got a little manic and spendy today over it and even bought and smoked cigs even though I just quit.

I can't talk to my husband about being anxious as he really needs me to be a strong partner so pardon this long vent. I just had an appt with my therapist and I wish I had brought this up!

Ok big long ramble. If you've read this far please toss a few calm, collected, maybe even charming thoughts, prayers or 'vibes' my way. You don't even have to post them, just think them! Smile

04/27/2012 01:35 PM
porch52
porch52Posts: 717

I was just part of a large gala event in our town, small town, but all the bigwigs were there from local, provincial and federal. I sat with a table of local councillors who I didn't know, and didn't have anyone with me. I was soo nervous, I had been expecting to sit at a table with some of our members whom I know well, but got bumped.

I ended up having a very enteraining time, the lady I sat next two was very interesting, and entertaining becuase she is well-known to say "what she thinks", whenever it comes to mind.