MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/12/2012 06:42 AM

Just signed up saying hello

Incomplete

Hi i am new to the whole forum experience so will tell you how i got here.

Diagnosised bipolar 1 mixed mania with psychotic features earlier this year, i am 31. Life has been complex to say the least Growing up i was asked "whats wrong?" with such frequency my school had child welfare investigate my parents. I was told "because i dont smile and 7year olds smile" at my first psychiatrict evaluation over 23years ago.

"Whats wrong?" is still a question i get asked alot along side "why so serious?" the impulsive reacting "whats your problem" and my favourite consistantly aggressive trigger "Calm down".

The marvel of modern psychiatry is a glorious thing to look at. Viewmasters were revolutionary aswell until they just werent ...

Because we would grow up and out of it, right. Right? I couldnt?

No one knew much but all had alot to say over the years i seeked help until it caused more problems than good or expense over benefit had nothing over smoking weed and drinking. I recieved reapeated mis-diagnosis of depression, genralized anxiety, social anxiety, ADHD, OCD and Aspergers.

I was involuntary hospitalized late last year by my parents, i spent 3 weeks in recovery and still attend partial day treatment. My pdoc believed i was schizophrenic and would have been diagnosisd except for medical records documented symptoms following pattern of bipolar mood cycles over 11years without the word bipolar appearing once. I am still in early days of meds i am told, currently taking 2100mg sodium valproate 60mg cymbalta 300mg seroquel a day with benzos for anxiety and sleep.

Thats more of me i expected to expose, will ask and tell more as time passes

Post edited by: Incomplete, at: 05/12/2012 06:47 AM

05/12/2012 06:56 AM
uppitywoman
uppitywoman  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate