MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
09/15/2011 11:22 PM

Hello-new person here

Mulefoot
Mulefoot  

I read this on one of the Leaders' descriptions. It really rings true for me::

"We thought that I was just a naturally bubbly and motivated person, who had bouts of deep depression. We never thought of bipolar or hypomania."

So many super bouts of energy in college. Running to deadlines, always making it. Kept myself so busy so I could stay out of trouble. I am an Artist..and when I "allow" myself to "do" my Art (paint, bronze casting), I stay up for many many hours. I am kind of afraid to do my Art since it triggers mania.

Eventually the anxiety, un-even-ness, etc. interfered with my job (Professor of Industrial Welding) and I am now on disability..mental health disability. Hey, it made sense. I felt I was falling....the veil was slipping...

So now I am thinking of how to put structure in my life. Should I be free..just day to day? Or should I assign specific life functions to each day----like internet one day, farm stuff another day, Art stuff 1-3 days.

At least I do have a talking therapist and an Rx doc. Was self medicating for so long with alcohol. It took quite a while for docs to assess that it was bi-polar.

Thanks for this group!

09/16/2011 12:18 AM
stevesayshi
stevesayshi  

Welcome to the group mulefoot. Let your art flow when you feel it. Go with the flow, one step at a time. I wish I could say more but the wife is ratttling in my ear and won't let me think.

09/16/2011 04:19 AM
2ofme
2ofme  
VIP Member

I must agree with 'stevesayshi' on the art. If it's all tucked away within yourself, you can not share it with others ... and it IS your statement to the rest of the world.

I suggest you speak with your p-docs regard "structuring" your life.