MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
10/17/2008 01:08 PM

Introduction

Deanne

Hello, I just want to introduce myself to this group. I'm completely new to online discussions like this, so please be patient with my ignorance in regard to how to do things. Sometimes it takes me a while to understand the obvious on this web site.

I'm also new to bipolar disorder. I never new anything about it until the last year and a half of my life. Since then I have met three people who have to deal with it: one friend, one coworker, and one man I dated until about a month ago. He and I became very close over the past eight months. On Sept. 20, he said he loved me with all his heart. The next day, he stopped returning my calls. I received an email from him implying that I had caused his current depression. I know that wasnt true, since he had been missing his medication off and on for several weeks before that.

I have since done a ton of reading and asking questions to people to try and understand bipolar disorder and whether or not I can or should do something to try and restore my friendship with this guy. I do understand bipolar disorder much better now, but I still have so many questions. The problem is that almost nobody I know understands it, or wants to understand it, and I keep getting criticize for caring about someone with bipolar disorder. My own counselor even told me that the disorder doesn't really exist and that people use it as an excuse to do unhealthy things. He said I should stay away from anyone who says they have bipolar. I disagree.

So I am looking for people who can understand my questions and not criticize me for being in pain over the loss of someone I care so much about, even if he has bipolar disorder. I'm not even sure whether or not I have really lost him. (I hope this is all making sense.)