MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/23/2009 08:37 AM

My husband is in denial he has bipolar

mskaos81

my husband who is a police officer denies he has bipolar and refuses treatment. I am a nurse and we have 3 small children. I am about to leave him if he doesn't get treatment because this is unhealthy for me and the kids. I don't know what to do. It's not good to leave someone with his condition, no treatment and a gun!!

04/23/2009 09:00 AM
BiPolarStoner
BiPolarStoner  

Was he diagnosed by a Pdoc or do you think he has it?

04/23/2009 03:03 PM
mechjockusa
mechjockusa  

you really did not allow us much to work with, bit i intend to try. Him being bipolar and a cop, well not a good mix. I beleive that if he admits to having the disease, then he feel he will lose his job, who wants a phycso armed and running the street. He may have to give his job up, and that would suck. whatelse can he do in his mind nothing. what else is he going to lose.....you. i guarentee that is in his mind as well. something is going to have to happen for him to accept his fate. You may not be it. maybe waking up to his gun by his head will do it, maybe not. he will realise he cannot run will take time that is all. Please support him as much as possible even if it is from a distance. i am sure deap down he loves you he is just fighting more than he can bear right now.

04/24/2009 05:27 AM
Chrislxa

Dear mskaos81;