MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/06/2012 06:41 PM

No More Resentment

CAust3

I don't have to be bitter.

A simple statement, but a bold one for me.

I was unemployed (and drunk) for eight months. During this time I didn't almost, or kinda, lose my mind--I fully did. I lost it.

During my last months of college, I was diagnosed and was prescribed meds. And then I graduated, and was left without a means to pay for those those meds for months and months and months.

Did that severest, worst, most self-centered of acts enter my mind? The Big S? Of course. I was almost there at many points. Too many.

But then I got a job. My dream job, in fact. It's been very hard sometimes, but I would never go back to my life before.

So I don't have to be bitter any more. At last, it seems like the universe is being kind to me. My friends stand by me, I have a WONDERFUL online support group to help me, and really just have no reason to be sad and resentful anymore.

Yeah, I still get upset and worked-up a lot. A LOT. Too much, sometimes. I still break down, explode, weep, bleed, and scream. But I'm slowly putting all that to rest. It will take some time ('cause I do everything a little later than everyone else) but I will get there. I will find my peace. And that makes it all okay.

05/06/2012 07:39 PM
uncertainone

That's great to hear that you have your dream job and are doing better!!!Smile

Sometimes life kicks you in the butt, but if you keep trying somehow it usually turns around. Best of luck, Maria

05/06/2012 07:58 PM
nurse932

Three cheers for your positive attitude.

The more positive we think, the more our brain gets wired that way.

At first it feels fake, but after a while it feels as natural as it can get.

Good luck

05/06/2012 08:04 PM
skeptical
skeptical