MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
03/29/2012 09:40 AM

Bipolar....But not 'really' bipolar? ?

BlackRoses
BlackRosesPosts: 134

Just wanted to share that I may be leaving you all soon. I had an appt with my GP yesterday and I asked her to increase my anxiety meds or change them since they feel as though they're doing nothing. Long story short, She read me the report my psychiatrist sent her and concluded that I'm not technically bipolar since my diagnosis is 'NOS' and it's not actually the same thing according to my gp.

The report also banned her from increasing my current med above 500mg which I've been at for over a month now with no effect. Banned her from prescribing any and all antidepressants until the bipolar issue is clarified and also banned her from prescribing any other medication because that could have diagnostic implications.

She asked when I was seeing him again and flipped when I told her I had no idea, hadn't seen nor heard a word about the second appointment since the day of my first one back in Oct. So she called my threapist's office and yelled and now I'm apparently supposed to expect calls from both my therapist and my psychiatrist. But anyway, yeah, despite being told I'm bipolar, my gp is telling me I'm not. But it's not the first time, a decade ago they told me I was depressed and sent a report back to my gp describing me as 'angry and defiant, but not depressed.' So I don't really know who to believe or where I belong anymore.

03/29/2012 09:49 AM
hypnagogic
hypnagogic  
Group Leader
I'm an Advocate

"Bipolar Disorder Not Otherwise Specified (BP-NOS) is diagnosed when a person has symptoms of the illness that do not meet diagnostic criteria for either bipolar I or II. The symptoms may not last long enough, or the person may have too few symptoms, to be diagnosed with bipolar I or II. However, the symptoms are clearly out of the person's normal range of behavior."