MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
01/24/2008 05:19 PM

What my counselor suggested about BP boyfriend

mary5kids

I went to the counselor today for the first time in a long long time. She made a suggestion as to what to do in my current situation with my BP boyfriend who has basically cut me off from his life. She explained to me that BP plus the fact that he was abused as a child results in him being able to cut himself off of his real feelings. She thinks that is what is going on. Her suggestion was to stop sending love letters and notes and see if it triggers him to realize hey whats going on with Mary? She says by being the pursuer gives me less control over this situation. As she put it my method has not worked and he has not called me in 11 days. What do you guys think???

01/24/2008 05:44 PM
TerriTee
TerriTee  
VIP Member

If he hasn't called in 11 days, it's worth a try. I'm no expert about human behavior, but you counselor is. Good luck! Smile

01/25/2008 04:24 AM
chattycathy

I'm no expert, but from everything that I've read online, it seems that the more you pursue them, the more they retreat.

I had a boyfriend 14 years ago who I did not know was BP at the time (now that I am educated in the symptoms, all the signs were there), and when he retreated, I went berserk - called him (he didn't answer the phone), went over his house (he shut the door in my face) and nothing worked. Mind you, he had just declared that he loved me more than anyone ever and had given me a $3000 diamond tennis bracelet a few weeks before. There were no fights, no ex-husband to scare him - nothing. Everything was great between us and he just started becoming quiet, depressed and picking on everything I did and said. He was acting like someone else - not the guy I knew.