MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/11/2012 09:24 AM

what is one of the most successful meds

pinkrose62
pinkrose62Posts: 8

What is one of the most successful meds for Bi-polar II disorder?

02/11/2012 09:31 AM
sarahtroy
sarahtroy  
Group Leader
I'm an Advocate

Hi pinkrose62, Wishing you a warm welcome to MDJ. This is a very supportive, encouraging and informative group. If you ever have any questions, please feel free to contact me or any other group leader via private message (PM) so we can help.

To answer your question, the gold standard for treating Bipolar in general is Lithium. As far as the treatment of Bipolar II, I am not a doctor and cannot say what the most successful med is, but I know a lot of members here are on Lamictal.

To be sure, the most successful med will be the one that works for you, and that is highly individualistic.

Post edited by: sarahtroy, at: 02/11/2012 09:38 AM

02/11/2012 11:19 AM
YorkieLove
YorkieLove  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

I take lithium and lamictal (lamotrigine generic). I believe that lithium saved my life. A lot of people take seroquel too, but it can cause weight gain and fatigue.

02/11/2012 11:30 AM
lken
lken  
VIP Member

Abilify, an antipsychotic drug -- $4.6 billion

Seroquel, an antipsychotic drug -- $4.4 billion,

most sold mood drug

most drug

Hydrocodone (combined with acetaminophen) -- 131.2 million prescriptions

Post edited by: lken, at: 02/11/2012 11:31 AM

02/11/2012 12:14 PM
lken
lken  
VIP Member

thanks for setting be straight, i do reach out without finding all the facts, but i did read once somewhere, that lithium is natural occurring in some water supplies, i think it was elpaso, or they wanted to add it to it, see how about tricks of the mind, anyway, guess it is needed in juanez now.

02/11/2012 02:47 PM
lj80