MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
12/03/2011 12:50 AM

Lamictal/Abilify combo

hjs1975
hjs1975  

I finally saw my pdoc this past Wednesday. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to see her any sooner, because of the Holiday and other scheduling conflicts... However, during my last visit (beginning of November) she told me to increase my dose of Lamictal by 50mg each week until I noticed a difference in my mood ... When I saw her on Wednesday (I was up to 300mg of Lamictal) I told her that although I wasn't experiencing my normal, seasonal depression, I was still feeling very "blah" (unmotivated and lethargic) like I always do this time of year…

A bit more about me before I continue… I mentioned in my last post that I work a “high stress job at night”… More specifically, I work in the restaurant industry which keeps me on my feet (literally) and my on my toes (dealing with patrons and their various needs and wants)… As a whole, I love what I do for a living (I've been doing it for 18 years and for me, the pros outweigh the cons)! It's hard to describe the ups and downs of this industry, but in general it keeps me feeling like I'm an active part of society, being able to physically interacting with people each day (as opposed to working a “corporate/desk job”, which I tried and hated) … For me, there are only three major downfalls to this industry. They are dealing with the “needy patrons” who you just can't seem to please, trying to keep the peace with the late-night customers who have been cut off from alcohol and still want more!! And finally, (but most importantly), having to have this “off switch” at work (putting on that “happy face”, even when I feel at my worst), then getting home early in the AM and having to deal with my own issues… I am sure that there are other people with late-night careers (ER doctors and nurses come to mind… Lol…), who might experience similar situations. 