MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
08/16/2011 01:16 PM

Bipolar and Stealing

BPparent

Hopefully some one can help me understand more about bipolar disorder and help my wife cope. A little background history. We have a 18 year old daughter that was diagnosed with bipolar after several years of trouble. Started when she was around 11-12 years of age. She has seen several psychiatrist and psychologists over the years with dx of ADD to just being a rebellious child. Problems with drug abuse and alcohol abuse. She is not compliant with the meds because she says the make her so sleepy she can not function during the day.

Im a registered nurse for 12 years and have treated patients with bipolar when they come in with severe depression and/or mania episodes and a few suicide attempts. I understand what bipolar is and some current treatments and meds used, but actually dealing with a family member you love and care for is very very tough for me and my wife to cope.

Im not perfect by no means, and not even claiming to be. My wonderful wife is so supportive and cares and treats our daughter great in my opinion. She is supportive when needed and stern when needed.

My wife and I number 1 problem is the stealing. My wife really thinks the stealing is something she does out of mania or depression. I just cant come to grips with that. I believe stealing is a conscious act and has nothing to do with BP.

I can accept the fact and understand when she was younger and stole for drug money but now i dont believe she is taking illegal drug but she continues to steal. My wife is worried about her starting work because she may steal and go to jail.

08/16/2011 01:40 PM
Catbaloo
CatbalooPosts: 6921
Group Leader