MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
08/12/2011 10:10 PM

hey everyone...im new to this

Liliana143

Please help!! I have a sister who s bipolar and i dont know what to do anmore...keep her out of my life or wtick by her even though she always hurts me and tries to ruin my life... I dont knw much about the disease but s pathologically lying something thats normal??Sad

08/12/2011 11:04 PM
stevesayshi
stevesayshi  

BPD unfortunately not only affects the individual, but the people around them. Proper treatment and family support goes a long way. As for the lying. I belief the truth is always more interesting than a lie.

08/12/2011 11:19 PM
PlumIce87
PlumIce87  

Intentionally lying is an act that depends on the person and has nothing to do with the disorder. Just because Im bipolar does not mean I lie. Maybe ur sister can be a bit difficult to deal with for now, bt understanding her and what shes going through, being educated abt the disorder as much as u can in her case i hope can help w working with her a lil more..

08/12/2011 11:31 PM
ComingUndone
ComingUndone  

As far as I know, pathologically lying is not a symptom of bipolar disorder. I've known pathological liars and it was very annoying. I just called them out on their lies.

Hopefully she is getting professional help and family support through this time is nice to have. But, I think it's good to set boundaries.

I hope things get better for you and your sister soon.

08/13/2011 09:05 AM
uppitywoman
uppitywoman  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate