MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
06/19/2011 06:12 AM

Would you see a therapist who is bipolar?

psyd2b
psyd2b  

So, I had this conversation with someone the other day and thought it would be fun to throw this question out to the group..... Would you go to a therapist who is bipolar (managed, not symptomatic, of course)? And why or why not? Wink

BTW - I'm new at this, so please forgive any faux pas as to where/what/how to post. I'm just a newbie trying to make new friends and get involved in the community. Sideways

Thanks!

Post edited by: psyd2b, at: 06/19/2011 06:28 AM

06/19/2011 07:11 AM
pirateprincess421
pirateprincess421  
VIP Member

I personally would not. But it is hard to tell when you meet a person. I think if I started noticing signs of trouble (cancelled appts), I would be concerned. But I wouldn't put up with that from any therapist.

They of course are not going to tell you. That would be unprofessional.

06/19/2011 07:25 AM
capecod84
capecod84  

How would you know? Most doctors cancel appointments. I personally don't want to judge anyone because I sit here and cry miserably when people judge me. I think if the person holds the license they must hold a certain skill set we do not despite the illness. What matters most is can this person help you? They may not fit you, but the next person they may do wonders for. Alot of people in the profession do have some form of mental illness. I personally don't care as long as my paperwork gets processed.

06/19/2011 07:32 AM
pirateprincess421
pirateprincess421  
VIP Member

My doctor has NEVER canceled on me. Once she changed my time an hour later. That's what I mean by professionalism. If someone is having an episode they would be not able to handle their daily functions. Im sure there are great therapists out there with BP or other diseases. But my point is the professionalism.

06/19/2011 07:45 AM
Sparkerama

I would view it as an asset, but it is one of many things I would consider.