MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
12/20/2007 09:16 PM

I think I am bipolar - who do I talk to?

GalileosMuse

It starts, I guess, with the fact that my best friend has bipolar disorder. (The immediate response is that I am just seeing her symptoms in myself in some kind of hypochondriac fashion. I can assure you that I'm not - I've been sitting on the idea that I had bipolar for about two years, whereas a hypochondriac would probably already be demanding medication.) My friend and I are incredibly alike. I am told frequently that I "sound like Elizabeth."

Once I began to wonder if I might be bipolar, I started looking into information on it. It seemed to fit, but I tended to question my diagnosis, especially because I was told to do so. I have since become more and more sure that I have bipolar disorder - and have had it since childhood.

Bipolar children are commonly diagnosed with ADHD, a diagnosis I had that was later overturned in favor of Oppositional Defiant Disorder (another disorder bipolar children tend to be labeled as) and Anxiety/Depression.

Just tonight I stole into a filing cabinet and have been reading the second psychiatric report I had done (the one with ODD and depression findings), and then re-read some symptom lists for bipolar children and have found the information to fit my nine-year old self to a "t." I would elaborate, but I'm trying to get to the part where I ask you guys a question. The point is that I think looking at this was a more objective way for me to confirm what I have been suspecting.

More currently, I would say that about a week ago I flipped from what I would term as a depressive episode to a hypomanic one. I hesitate to say that I have experienced full-blown mania, though perhaps that is my own skepticism of my self-diagnosis.