MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
11/02/2010 01:24 PM

Direct Line To God

cassiejosh

Hi I'm fairly new to this so please bear with me! When I was manic I found i was getting "messages" from God. As a committed Catholic and having read various books I actually thought this was normal. Has anyone else had this experience? I'd be grateful for ur comments.

I take

Risperidone 2mg

Escitalopram 20mg

thanks

Lisa

11/02/2010 04:39 PM
greenskyz

Not exactly. I thought that i had the answers to life and figured out what happens when we die. When i tried to tell people they didn't understand, so i thought that it was beyond their comprehension and that it was knowledge just for me. I know other people have experienced thinking god was talking to them or sending messages though.

11/02/2010 04:43 PM
YorkieLove
YorkieLove  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

We have had many people here that have had God experiences while manic. These were anything from messages from God to being God. It's fairly normal for bipolar patients.

11/03/2010 06:12 AM
Volante
Volante  

In 2008 when I was unmedicated, I went into a psychotic mania and I thought I was speaking to God directly. While it was thrilling to be on missions from God, being medicated and looking back, I put myself in harms way too many times to count. I recommend a med adjusment if you think you have a direct line to God. It is a delusion and it is not real.

11/03/2010 06:39 AM
Dit
Dit  
Group Leader
I'm an Advocate

When i went into a mania/psychosis i definately had spiritual experiences, eg. good vs evil, hallucinations eg. people having evil eyes, God using me to help with His divine plans, saw the Virgin Mary appear in my hospital psych. ward room, which i became so very relaxed...i did not practice my faith at that time which was over two decades ago...i've never had these experiences again nor have i become manic again. I pushed whatever faith i had behind me and was very dry spiritually for over 3 yrs.