MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
08/03/2013 11:31 AM

Careers for Bipolar

MoodyRayan29
MoodyRayan29  

OK I have read a lot about fluctuating jobs and unstable careers of bipolar patients. So I initiated this conversation for all. Just write your profession (what you do to earn your living) and how you feel about it. You could also share your challenges in your work.

Starting from myself. I studied communications and in short span of three years I worked into event management, PR, E-learning and social media, which means I am in a phase of changing careers very frequently.

Your active participation is highly appreciated.

Thanks.

08/03/2013 11:47 AM
purplepink

I am a Social Worker and I have worked in Early Intervention, Adoptions, and in a psychiatric hospital. I currently run the Exceptional Family Member Program at Beale Air Force Base. Its a pretty stress free job and often I actually don't have enough to do. Perfect for me right now although I do like a job where I spend more time with my patients. Working is essential to my mental health.

08/03/2013 12:03 PM
EMTI2417

I work as an EMT-Intermediate, I work in a busy 911 system. I love my job and I love the medical field. Luckily for me the stress and sad situations I see dont bother me, the sleep cycle though takes a toll for sure.

08/03/2013 02:40 PM
Yrollam
YrollamPosts: 2476

As an adult, post college I've worked in immunology research, laboratory data management, daycare, as a teacher's assistant at an autistic school, as a direct care aide in a residential home for the adult developmentally disabled, in customer service, and as a nurse's aide in an impatient mental health facility. All of which I became sick due to my bipolar and had to go on short term disability and when that ran out had to quit. Now I am a freeloader awaiting my verdict from my disability hearing.

08/03/2013 02:53 PM
fairyinboots
fairyinbootsPosts: 395

Humanities Smile