MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/06/2013 06:58 AM

Says he loves me but acts the opposite.

LovesBipolar

Hi,

This is my first time posting on a forum. I have been reading some postings and wonder if anyone can shed insight on what I am going through.

My boyfriend is bi-Polar and also addicted to alcohol. Or an alcohol abuser.

We have been having a really hard time lately. He acts very distant and sits in his room all night drinking. He doesn't talk to me much yet spends a lot of time texting other people.

I have been telling him things need to change. A repeating pattern is where our issues come to a head and he promises to change. Promises to get help and then does neither. I know change doesn't happen overnight but nothing at all happens.

I told him he needs to decide what he wants. Me and my daughter or call it quits. He said he wanted us. Asked me if it was too late to fix it. I said he needed a few days to think things over and make some decisions.

He went to a friends house and had fun all weekend. How is that thinking things over? Told me he was coming home and didn't. He hasn't called or tried to get in touch with me.

He has told me he doesn't deserve my love. Is that code for I don't want to be the bad guy?

What is going on? Should I just let him go and move on or is this typical behavior of a bi-polar?

05/06/2013 07:14 AM
jaguarandcubs
jaguarandcubs  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

Honestly? The alcohol is a HUGE problem. I can't see him being the person you want him to be for that reason alone. Bipolar isn't an excuse - granted, many of us have self medicated with alcohol or drugs. Usually before being diagnosed and treated with medication.

I think you should really think about yourself and your daughter. It is a toxic environment for both of you. It has to be his decision to change. And it really sounds like he doesn't want to.

Sorry if that sounds harsh....I just call it as I see it.