MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/20/2013 12:27 AM

The difference between BiPolar and PTSD

GeorgeBurns
GeorgeBurns  

Hi you guys. This is my first time posting on this board. I joined MDJ about a month ago and I'm most often on the PTSD and child abuse boards. I was dx bipolar decades ago - I'm a middle aged woman. Only around a year ago, I started remembering my violent and abusive childhood. I have been seriously depressed most of my life. Prozac just came out when I turned 40 and I finally found out what 'normal' not-depressed felt like. Except for those weeks a couple times a year when I didn't sleep more than one or two hours a night. Also being hypersexual in my twenties made me far less depressed. But mostly - depressed mixed with rage, raw emotions of grief, loss of hope and generally feeling devastated out of seemingly nowhere.

I want to ask those of you who understand bipolar if you know differences between bipolar and PTSD. I think night terrors/nightmares where you wake screaming is PTSD. I think flashbacks are too, but if you don't know it's a flashback and it just feels like you've lost your mind by a trigger then it might seem like bipolar?

I think I was dx bipolar bc at the time I did not remember my abusive childhood. I couldn't explain the raw mental pain - so they called it bipolar. Does anyone have a dx of both? Can you explain why both? Just wanting to learn from people rather than research this online or books. Thanks ahead for your help.

02/20/2013 01:01 AM
Willtolive
Willtolive