MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/17/2012 08:30 AM

Just trying to keep my head above water!!!!

tjoyner22
tjoyner22  

Well this is my first time on a forum like this, but I desperately need to connect with others that may be in the same situation that I am!!!

I have been married to my husband for 7 years and he has been diagnosed with bipolar1 for almost 2 years now. When he was diagnosed everything seemed to make so much sense. All of the weird behavior from before would hopefully soon come to and end now that he was on medicine.

My husband has been on many different medicines over the past two years and I thought that lithium was working great!!!! He has gained weight and wanted to stop taking the lithium. I suggested getting a different medicine from his doctor first instead of not taking anything. Well that didn't happen. he stopped taking the lithium and things aren't going so well.

I feel so overwhelmed all of the time!!! I work full-time and have 3 small kids. It is very difficult to stay on top of things all of the top just with those and then adding all the extra stresses from his bipolar.

Things were pretty good when he was on the medicine. I don't feel like I have any help with anything around the house or with the kids and I am afraid to ask him to help because I am worried that I am going to stress him out too much or cause an episode. I also worry so much about money and sex. He wants to have sex sooo much when he is in an episode and it stresses me out so much that I find myself just not wanting to be around him.

Last little vent, I worry so much about money. When he isn't feeling well he will go out and spend so much money and doesn't even see anything wrong with it. Then when I confront him he makes excuses and will even tell me that I spend too much money. I am in control of all of the money and have even taken our checking about card before just to be safe, but I hate doing it.