MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/08/2010 07:08 PM

How do I keep doing this?

sue19
sue19Posts: 41

Hello All - I am new to this support group. I am trying to find a way to talk

with others and get advice on how to deal with my bipolar husband.

To sum up our relationship - we have been together for almost 7 years. We got

married last year and have been married for 10 months now. WOW WHAT A RIDE!

When I met him, he had just come home from living out of town, he worked in an

area that he got caught up in the wrong crowd and became an alcoholic and was

abusing cocaine. He came home, got rehab and was clean for 3 years. After 3

years, he started drinking again. Our relationship ended for about 9 months - I

couldn't deal with it. I do not drink and do not want a spouse that does, for

religious and many other reasons. I've seen it destroy too many families. We

kept in touch while we weren't together and once he quit drinking we got back

together. AFter we got married, I soon learned after investigating his

behavior, moods and the fact that our bank account kept being drained, that he

had a drug problem again. This time, he was abusing prescription pain

medications. Once again, I refuse to live with it. I tried to get him help

along with his parents. After he lied to me and everyone else for MONTHS, he

has finally decided to come clean and get help. He has been off the pills now

for only 3 months. I pray that I don't have to go through that again, however,

know there is always a good chance it could happen again. Instead of rehab, he

decided to just seek close medical care and goes regularly to counseling. He

suffers a lot (and always has) from severe mood swings, depression and anxiety.

He is on medications for all of them, and his counselor did some tests with him

and he has a bipolar disorder and some ADD symptoms. (The bipolar thing I have

always wondered about.)