MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
03/14/2012 01:36 AM

TRUST

ZadieBlue
ZadieBluePosts: 4547
VIP Member

Hey -- Turns out I have major trust issues. I can barely trust anyone. I had a trust issue with my therapist and I've been working with her for 8 years!

How do you come to trust people again?

03/14/2012 06:10 AM
uppitywoman
uppitywoman  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

In my personal experience I have found no easy way to do it. Having had my heart stomped on enough times caused me to stay at arms length from people, but that wasn't the answer. It left me lonely and without someone with whom I could share my thoughts and feelings with. There is always risk in relationships. What I do is spend time with someone and try to get a feel for how trustworthy and kindhearted they are. The two qualities I believe are necessary for me to trust them with my heart. Does it always work? Unfortunately, no, I have had still had to walk away from a few relationships smarting from the sting of rejection and feeling a fool. BUT, for the greater part I have found that if I am willing to risk, I am given the gift of a new trusted relationship. I just have to be willing to step out and take the risk.

03/14/2012 08:42 AM
cptblack
cptblack  
VIP Member

I've always had trust issues as long as I can remember. I might give someone a little trust. Then I see if they use it wisely. If they do I give them more. If they break my trust I lose all trust in them and they better be ready to accept that and work their @$$es off to earn the least little bit.

But that is just me.

03/14/2012 08:58 AM
ZadieBlue
ZadieBluePosts: 4547
VIP Member