MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/06/2012 03:28 PM

Work and Illness

IDoNotKnow
IDoNotKnow  
VIP Member

I am sorry to start a topic that is not really related to bipolar but I wanted your advice. I am sick AGAIN. I have been sick three times in a months time. I use hand sanitizer and wash my hands constantly. In fact my hand are splitting and bleeding because I use hand sanitizer so much! What am I doing wrong?

I do have to say that I do have Lupus as well so my immune system is fighting itself and not at its best but this is crazy. I catch EVERYTHING the kids get.

In case you don't know I am a music teacher.

I also read one of your threads that reminded me of the following... I am a bit "hypomanicy" or "manicy" and my kids at school notice. I have been asked if I was "crazy". This one is better though... "Did you have crazy puffs for breakfast?" I have had kids tell me I was speaking too fast and that I needed to slow down. The list goes on and on. I love my kids at school. They like the "manicy" me. It is just the other side that presents a problem!

02/06/2012 03:31 PM
taters
taters  

I get what you mean. I was manic all last year, so I was the administrations darling. Now, I am in a depression, so I went from sugar to $hit in six months. I can't take it anymore. I cry instead of eat lunch. I cry while I get ready for work. This is no way to live. I hate this.

02/06/2012 10:05 PM
youngfilly
youngfilly  
VIP Member

Aww IDNK, I know you have been struggling with illness for a long time now. You are still working with your Drs to get on top of your immunity issues?

It's good you sanitise your hands, since they are splitting a lot have you tried hand moisturiser? the constant washing will be taking moisture out of your skin drying it out.