MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
06/12/2007 10:07 PM

later onset autism

leidabeth

My now 14 year old daughter was an outgoing, social, calm, loving, affectionate chilld until the end of her third grade year (about 9 years old). She suddenly became withdrawn, didn't want to be touched, started engaging in repetitive behaviors. We took her out of school and she has done very well with the homeschooling classes that we are a part of. But she still doesn't like to be touched, is uncommunicative to most people outside of her immediate famkily, has gradually reduced the number of her friends to one, likes to talk about herself as weird, eats a limited diet and only one food at a time -- don't mix anything up. I haven't found any information on autism that starts at such an age and am wondering if any of this strikes a chord with anyone else.

06/13/2007 12:25 AM
mem965

I'm no Autism expert, but I don't think this is the case with your kid. I would try and find out what happened to her around that age that cause these changes. I would consider therapy as well in order to find the reason for the change in her behavior.

Hope this helps.

David.

06/13/2007 01:53 PM
GeorginaT
GeorginaT  

I would definitly talk to her doctor about your concerns and see if he could get her to meet with a therapist and see what they believe could be causing this change in behavior that would be where I would start

06/14/2007 12:07 AM
mem965

that's good to hear and good luck with that!

Don't forget to us posted, it's very interesting to me.

D

06/17/2007 11:11 AM
bubuwife

Hi, Leidabeth. Surely strikes a chord with me, I was complaining not too long ago of the same problem with my son:

http://www.mdjunction.com/forums/autism-discussions/general- support/2699-very-late-onset