MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
10/23/2008 08:00 PM

5 years old child with autism

tony12rony

Hello All,

My name is Mekael and I am currently a student at Sheridan College, who is studying to become and Educational Assistant, and also i have 5 years old child with autism. So I have had the privilege, in reading and learning more about the current issues around Autism and receiving a person perceptive. This has help me tremendously and I feel that it is important to support one another and share resources. Therefore I would like your help and expanding my knowledge.

I would like to have some ideas to help 5 years old child to be active participate in the regular daily routine both at school and at home.

thanks

Smile Smile Smile

10/25/2008 11:09 AM
spectrummum

To the tune of 'here we go round the mulberry bush':

"This is the way we (clap our hands/stamp our feet/jump up high, etc)(3 times!) This is the way we (clap our hands etc) on a cold and frosty morning."

(So, for example... " This is the way we clap our hands, clap our hands, clap our hands. This is the way we clap our hands on a cold and frosty morning."Wink - whilst doing the actions!

Old MacDonald had a farm.

(Hold up pictures of animals while you sing this, and see if your child can 'sing' the animals with you, or get your child to hold up the correct picture)

" Old MacDonald had a farm, ee ei ee ei oh, and on that farm he had a ...(hold up a picture and pause to see if your child can name it)... dog, ee ei ee ei oh. With a 'woof woof' here and a 'woof woof' there. Here a 'woof', there a 'woof', everywhere a 'woof woof'. Old MacDonald had a farm, ee ei ee ei oh."

To the tune of 'Twinkle Twinkle Little Star'

"I can.... (run/jump/hop/skip, etc) fast you see, come and (.....) along with me. (Run......)"

For example:

(Whilst doing the actions)