MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/04/2009 06:33 PM

I want a new set of lungs please!

pkayjo
pkayjo  

Hi I have had asthma since I was 10 yrs old. Doctors told me I would grow out of it, instead it has gotten worse. I have been on a respirator 3 times. The first of which was the night I graduated from high school. I was even sent to the National Jewish Center in Denver for 3 months when I was 17 to try to figure something out. It just pissed me off. I have been in and out of the hospital so many times I will do anything to avoid it. I went to far the last time, cuz I was a little to late and ended up on the respirator again in November of 07. I am a single mom of 2 teenage boys ages 13 and 15. My 13 yr old has it but only exercise induced and when he has a cold. I also have fibromyalgia and essential tremors to go along with no air!

02/05/2009 12:00 AM
belinda1217

I'm an Advocate

pkayjo,

I've had asthma all my life.

My allergies can trigger it and that's also just about anything that sheds.

Asthma doesn't go away.

Have you tried going to allergist?

Belinda

02/05/2009 03:25 PM
fluffyluggage
fluffyluggage  
VIP Member
I'm an Advocate

Hey Pkayjo!

Welcome to the forum, hun. I have FMS, and several other conditions. I totally understand some of what you're going thru, tho I've never been hospitalized and never let it get that bad. I think because of my other conditions, I've always been too concerned it would be a big problem. Are you on any medications for it? If not, I'd really recommend you get on them. As Belinda asked, have you been to an allergist? I actually found my PCP a better help for me, tho, after we determined what I was allergic to. But it's great to know WHAT you're allergic to, so you can have an idea of what your triggers are, then maybe try to avoid them. Me, I'd have to live in a bubble to avoid my own triggers! LOL

*hugs*

jen Smile

02/06/2009 03:58 AM
belinda1217

I'm an Advocate

Pkayjo,