MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/31/2011 11:29 AM

Celexa-Pros and Cons?

MadWorldMadChick
MadWorldMadChick  

I have severe anxiety and I got prescribed Celexa. I haven't taken it yet. Can anyone tell me the pros and cons of it? I'm currently a full time college student and I don't want it to negatively interfere with my studies.

05/31/2011 12:51 PM
debhurts
debhurts  

Hi chick, i have been on celexa and i havent had 1 side effect from Celexa, i take mine at night , i was told it gives you a little energy, which isnt a bad thing, i think the anxiety will interrupt your life more than celexa, if you are feeling unsure take them at night, and it wont interfere, i would start out with taking it during the day , just to make sure you don't have an allergic reaction, i think it is rare i am allergic to so many psych. meds it's not funny, but the celexa really helps, so i would take it how the labels says. I wish you luck and i hope you get relief from the celexa, it works for me!

06/03/2011 09:35 AM
Lini

I'm day 2 into taking 10mg of Celexa. I'll be on that for 7 days and then I'm to up the dosage to 20 and we'll go from there. My doctor said that the 2 worst side effects from it will be a possible increase in anxiety, just what I don't need, and some nausea. She looked me straight in the face and said "The first 2 weeks could possibly be hell for you but I promise you, with 100% certainty, that this will go away." And on day 2, approx 2 1/2 hours ago, I had a whopper of an anxiety attack. With the help of Ativan, I was able to get it under control and I'm OK now but it looks like she was right. It very well may be hell but I think in the long run, it will be good. I'm trying to be optimistic!! Smile

06/04/2011 04:17 AM
Rflattsfan78
Rflattsfan78