MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
04/30/2011 04:27 PM

HI I am new, and just lost

WIcaregiver

Hi i am new here. Have a companion, who is not diagnosed, life is so just unimaginable. I am a professional care giver too and am just stunned that in other situations I know the right answer, what to say, what not to say. how to redirect and now that it is so personally at my door it is all different now. ramifications from behaviors have isolated most of our friends and it is just easier for them to just distance themselves. There are not words that I can say to discribe, the vacuume,the fear the aloneness,and all the conversations and decisions that must be made and cannot be denied or avoided for much longer. Sorry to dump I just wanted to say hello.

04/30/2011 05:11 PM
lovingyoungwife

Hello and welcome to our group. You have spoken so much truth in your introduction. It is so different when the person you are dealing with is a loved one who you are with practically 24/7. I don't really know why it is, but this is a story that I hear repeated over and over and experienced myself, former friends distancing themselves. I think it must be that they just don't know what to say or what to do. Perhaps it is a grim reminder that anyone could find themselves in this same sad state. There is so much that is not known about Alzheimer's, so much to learn. Often it is that fear of the unknown that causes people to back off. But one thing you will find about our group here, we all understand what you are going through because we have all been through it ourselves or are going through it now. You will always find an ear to listen and a cyber shoulder to cry on here.

LYW

04/30/2011 07:15 PM
WIcaregiver