MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
11/28/2010 10:23 AM

alzheimers/dementia

overwhelmed47

I am new to this support group but am desperately looking for some advice on how to determine if my mother has begun Alzheimer's or dementia, or a case of over sedation of anesthesia. Is there a difference????? She is 76 yrs old and had back surgery this past June. Ever since, she has been confused, anxious, suspicious, forgetful, repetitive, etc. Any opinions?

I have friends and relatives telling me to find a support group since my mother is sucking the life outta me, but I DO NOT HAVE TIME to do anything else in life. UGH...... HELP!!Dizzy

11/28/2010 11:44 AM
tony36
tony36  
Group Leader
I'm an Advocate

Hi Ow and welcome to our group which you will find very supportive. I think you ought to find out first if your mother is labouring under medication that does not suit her. But AD is a possibility also as any change of environment or major trauma like an operation can catapult someone from mild beginnings of AD to a more advanced stage. So see first if the medication can explain her present condition. Remember that we are not medical people and you need to consult her doctors.

Tony

11/28/2010 11:47 AM
alznotwell
Group Leader

Hello OW47. We can certainly identify with overwhelmed, especially when we first suspected our relative had a serious problem. If descent into Alzheimer's (AD) is imminent, a serious medical procedure can precipitate a plunge that leaves us appalled at its suddenness. Have you had her back to the doctor to discuss her symptoms? He or she will likely refer you to a neurologist who can better identify her mental state. Yes, there's a difference between effects of over-sedation and onset of AD, and this certainly has the earmarks of AD, but best talk to a doctor for a diagnosis. We will be glad to help you with any specific problems regarding her care (and your sanity) that we can. It's good you looked us up. Keep talking to us. ANW