MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
02/20/2009 07:17 PM

Rock Bottom

CaitlinRae
CaitlinRae  

Hi, Everyone. Thank you for accepting me into your group.

I've lost almost everything to alcohol, including my self-love. I have been drinking excessively for over ten years. At first, I found that liquor helped my anxiety and depression I have had since I was twelve. Then, of course, booze only compounded my symptoms.

I was once a respected Education Director at a local college, when in 2005, the company laid off 16 people, and my position was eliminated. Of course, the first thing I did was go home and drink an entire bottle of vodka. My fiance at the time also drank heavily and enabled me in every way.

In February of 2006, I went with him and some friends to a rock concert. We all partied heavily before the concert and when we were leaving later on, I fell down some stairs and broke my ankle and part of my leg. You'd think that this would have been my wake up call.

But, it wasn't. I "cut back" to wine versus the hard stuff, but found those dark feelings inside my head to become more than I could deal with on a daily basis.

I broke up with my fiance and miss him terribly to this day. I started dating a man I had met fourteen years earlier and we started a long distance relationship. Within three months, he moved into my condo with me. Right away, we were destructive to each other. He was emotionally and verbally abusive. After a year into this horrible relationship, I had sense to go stay with my parents for a week. When I went back to get more clothes, he slapped me hard across the face at close range and came after me. I shriveled myself up and pleaded with him to stop, and he did.