MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
03/07/2009 09:06 PM

Just to get to know people a little better....

chelseamarie
chelseamarie  

What does everyone do for a living?

Are there any others here that can't work because of their Agoraphobia?

03/08/2009 08:53 AM
mem6197

I'm currently on disability because I'm unable to work because of the agoraphobia and panic attacks. I'm hoping to one day get back to work, but right now it isn't possible for me.

I can go out on short trips with one of my "safe" people with me. There are also a couple of places that I can actually drive myself to (when I'm feeling up to it) because they are also "safe" places for me. The only other times I go out are for doc and therapy appts.

03/08/2009 09:33 AM
shrug
shrug  

I am a full-time student and have a very part time job working as an editor for a literary journal at my school. I only make $50 a semester but it keeps me busy. I also volunteer as a conversation partner with a student from Africa and I help maintain my school's recylcing bins. I hope to be starting a paid assistanship program next semester. I'm very nervous about whether I can do it, but am in a very intensive therapy program and hope I can work out my anxiety issues before I start.

03/08/2009 06:02 PM
chelseamarie
chelseamarie  

I do NOTHING. I never leave my house. Right now I'm working on getting my GED from home. And then I'll enroll in online college classes. My dream is to be a professional make-up artist...a fashion designer...a cosmetologist. I want to do just about anything and everything in the field of fashion. But I have to get over this Agoraphobia nonsense first!!

03/08/2009 06:04 PM
chelseamarie
chelseamarie  

Wen,

I have "safe" places and "safe" people too. So I TOTALLY know what you mean! I'm on disability for health insurance. I get medicaid because of my agoraphobia.

03/08/2009 06:34 PM
RobinsonCrusoe