MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
09/21/2011 04:22 PM

Medication Anxiety

dandelionS
dandelionSPosts: 14

Do you ever procrastinate for a really long time about putting your pills together, and miss taking them in the process? Are your medications a source of anxiety for you?

This happens to me every once in a while. The pills are a big help, but I don't want to think about them. I don't want to seperate them into their weekly case. I miss taking them and don't function because of this anxiety.

09/21/2011 05:58 PM
KittenMittens
KittenMittens  
VIP Member

Why don't you want to put them in a weekly case to remember to take them?

09/21/2011 06:00 PM
Anna321
Anna321  
VIP Member

You know, I do not keep my medication in boxes. I take straight out of the bottle. Sometimes it is a problem. I have been doing that for the past 15 years and it has become an automatic behavior. So automatic that sometimes I don't remember whether I took my morning meds. That can cause me anxiety. I start listening to my body for clues and of course we all know that if we listen to our bodies hard enough, we WILL become anxious!!! lol

09/21/2011 06:43 PM
dandelionS
dandelionSPosts: 14

I sometimes forget whether I've taken my medicine, too, Anna. That's one of the reasons the week boxes help. Plus I have a lot of meds to take, it would take a long time to take them individually every day.

Why don't I want to take my meds? That's a good question, KittenMittens. I hate being dependent on them, it hurts my self-esteem. They cost a lot of money that I don't have. I've been taking them since I was seven, something my parents forced on me, antidepressants that I did not think I needed at the time and were not approved for my age group. To this day I wonder if they did more harm than good.