MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
05/04/2012 10:26 PM

DHEA & Progesterone?

CanadianCat41
CanadianCat41  

Is low DHEA and Progesterone common effects of adrenal problems?

I've been doing replacement of both of these hormones since 2009 and I just wondered if alot of people have the same issue?

05/05/2012 12:10 AM
bob3bob3
bob3bob3Posts: 4213

Yes...

It can get complex, but basically if you have secondary AI both these can be lower. Additionally when you treat the low cortisol with HC etc, DHEA/Prog (can) get lower still.

The effect on primary AI is a little different and probably depends where the damage is. The adrenal cortex is kind of in 3 layers for the three steroid output types. The androgens (DHEA etc) some from the innermost layer.

I am not super clear on progesterone dependencies. Its the next step up from pregnenolone and is made in both adrenal glands and ovaries (and placenta during pregnancy) I don't have a handle on how significant the adrenal production is next to the ovarian. A male for example has about the same progesterone as a female in follicular phase.

My DHEA is about 0.3umol/L (1-8) and testosterone 3.8nmol/L (9.5-28). That comes from pituitary suppression of ACTH by my cortisol/gluco replacement. I have never had progesterone tested but when I had aldosterone done back in 2007 (further down same steroidogenesis path) it was in range. Nowadays however I do have to control mineralo side or I dry out badly. I assume therefore my aldosterone has dropped.

And I bet you just wanted a simple answer! <grin>

Bob

05/05/2012 09:20 AM
CanadianCat41
CanadianCat41  

I love your answers Bob! Thanks for taking the time ~hug~

In 2009 I finally talked my old doc into testing my hormones.....the results were that my DHEA, my progesterone, and Vit D were all sitting at 0.