MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
07/04/2010 05:24 PM

HYPOTHYROID OR LOW CORTISOL SYMPTOMS?

cpileggi

Hi Everyone,

I wanted to ask anyone if they could help me with knowing the difference of symptoms of hypothyroid and low cortisol symptoms because I do have thyroid problems but now i have found out from a saliva test that my cortisol levels are low and now I'm not sure if the symptoms i'm feeling are that or thyroid? I've noticed I can't handle stress very well, at times I can't move and my arms feel like dead weights, no energy., but these can be hypothyroid symptoms too. Boy, this can get very tricky. Now can your hair start thinning out also with low cortisol?

Also, can you correct this by taking cortisol for 5 wks and then try and wean off to give your adrenals a rest or is this forever and taking cortisol?

Sorry for all the questions, I'm new to this and it seems like alot to deal with, I already have to deal with my thyroid.

Appreciate any info.

Thanks,

Chris

07/04/2010 08:05 PM
bob3bob3
bob3bob3Posts: 4213

Hey Chris

Dont be sorry! The usual caveats about opinion...

There are a lot of interdependencies thyroid vs adrenal. As a general rule of thumb if you are cortisol low you also become hypothyroid. You can see that this will also mix the symptoms up! One site I found with a good symptom comparison is;

http://www.drrind.com/therapies/metabolic-symptoms-matrix

I should point out that if you are being treated as hypothyroid and then start treating for the low cortisol, you'll go hyperthyroid! And you thought medicine was fun!