MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
12/02/2009 01:10 PM

antibiotics/steroids

dollsie
dollsiePosts: 312

Hi guys,

Posted this in the Addison's forum too, looking for advice...

I'm taking Doxycycline for some infections. Since I've been on it, I've felt totally overtreated on my steroids (this is big news for me, since I've been requiring whopper doses for the last several months). Right now I'm able to get by on 15-20mgs of HC/day and very little Florinef. My dose of Doxy is 100mgs twice daily.

I've read that Doxy is a potent anti-inflammatory, in addition to being an antibiotic. I'm trying to figure out which effects I'm feeling. If I'm finally able to dose appropriately with HC because infections are going bye-bye, that's wonderful news. But if it's just that the Doxy is helping with excess inflammation (and doing part of cortisol's job), then when I go off of it I'll be right back where I started...

The only other changes I've made recently are that I switched from 7 Keto DHEA (which doesn't convert to sex hormones) to regular DHEA. My sex hormones are all low but FSH/LH are normal, so I don't think the problem is with ovaries or pituitary. Must just be from no DHEA (adrenals). My last DHEA reading was <15, which is technically undetectable.

I also started taking a sublingual/methylated B6/B12/folate supplement. Previously I was replacing B12 but wasn't as careful about the others. I have atrophic gastritis and anemia, so maybe this is helping (although the anemia is iron-deficiency and I haven't started the IV infusions for that yet).

So I guess I'm wondering if any of you have experience with antibiotics affecting your steroid requirements?

I'm having surgery on Monday and the surgeon wanted to know what my current dose of steroids is. I wasn't sure what to tell him - with Doxy, the dose is lowish. But without it, I need more.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Leigh

12/02/2009 07:23 PM
tpocicat

Leigh,