MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
03/25/2012 09:29 AM

Newly dx'd ADHD -Many questions!

foxmachine19
foxmachine19  

So, I have been struggling for many, many years with concentration, depression, EXTREME restlessness, anxiety, panic, my mind never slows down or shuts off, etc. I have been being treated for depression and anxiety for around 12 years and all my meds just kept on quitting on me. I was starting to feel super hopeless and super frustrated. I considered ECT and wanted to ask about it. So I went to see my wonderful psychiatrist and he assessed the situation and all of the things we had talked about in therapy over the past few months. I finally just told him, "I am becoming exhausted by this yo-yo of chaos I live in. I feel hopeless that anything will ever be better and i am, frankly, just tired of it all."

He told me he has been thinking about the situation and after much deliberation, said he wanted to try treating me for adult ADHD because it seemed to him that my depression and anxiety could possibly be secondary to all the chaos my mind gives me. Not ever being able to truly relax can be very depressing and anxiety-provoking. I also have severe PTSD and so my doc thinks that the comorbidity there has made ADHD an "overlooked" possibility. SO he gave me an RX for 20 mg's of immediate release adderall to take once a day.

I tool my first dose Wednesday and felt a little hyper, but different in a good way. After my fifth dose as of today, I am noticing that the hyperness has subsided, which is good, and I just feel... at ease. I am sincerely blown away at the difference in my state of mind.