MDJunction - People Helping People

Ask a Question
01/07/2009 07:37 PM

Trouble with studying at college

ojeco

Dear everyone,

I'm not really sure where to post this, since it touches many topics.

Anyway, at first let me introduce myself, I'm a 22-year-old college student guy, who suffers from ultra rapid cycling bipolar disorder, ADHD (inattentive type) and social phobia.

I haven't been officially diagnosed with ADHD, since in my country adult ADHD is an unrecognized thing (don't ask me why); psychiatrists simply don't know anything about it. I was a good student in elementary, I was interested in studying, so I went on undiagnosed. I haven't had any problems until high school, when I fell in love, suffered a deep depressive episode, acquired my social anxiety (although I have always been shy), and I really began to hate school.

I managed to finish high school without basicaly any studying, but now in college I'm in trouble. Practically I'm not able to study, prepare to classes, write essays at all. I was supposed to get my MA degree this year, but I'm still doing my second year of BA. Dizzy I was even kicked out once because of failing an exam 6x, but I managed to get back to school.

My main problem is that I'm terribly distracted all the time, I can't sit down with a book, I can't focus at it at all. Also, I have trouble attending to classes because of my social anxiety and ups and downs with my mood.